walking and writing

Trails and trials of the writer who walks

Pennine Way – Sep 20 – Day 10

Lovely evening at KeldA pleasant pitch at Keld.

I really wanted to do lots of wild camping on this trip, but tea-time always seems to present a campsite with pub in close proximity, so the will to walk a few miles further wilts rapidly at the sight of any sign depicting Black Sheep Ales.

Keld Lodge is not really a pub, and I’m sure I would have enjoyed a much better atmosphere if I’d continued to Tan Hill, but a strong wind and gloomy skies at 5 pm put me off any further efforts. The campsite farm at Keld has a choice of two fields. One is down a bit of a hill (toilet block top of hill!) and next to a river. The other has excellent views, a neighbouring public convenience and is within sight of the pub. Guess which I chose. For the first time, I enjoyed a sunset from my open tent flap without being bothered by midges.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2014 by in Walking.
