walking and writing

Trails and trials of the writer who walks

Pennine Way – Sep 14 – Day 4

Moors above Ponden

6.20 pm. At last a quiet pitch on a lonely moor, Ickornshaw Moor actually. For once, I’ve beaten dusk and am now sitting in my tent pretending my legs aren’t itching all over from 17 midge bites (each) – more than I achieved in Scotland in May. I suppose I was asking for it by continuing to wear shorts, with the idea that I could keep the zip-off bottoms clean for going into pubs.

This trail should have been named the Moorland Way. It’s just moors, and more moors.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2014 by in Long Trails, Walking.
