walking and writing

Trails and trials of the writer who walks

West Highland Way, Day 6, May 18th

SAM_0443

 

Hair still wet from yesterday. Sleeping bag damp and not lofting properly. Still raining. Boots sodden. BUT … my phone gets a signal so I am able to book a bed at the hostel near Fort William, so the promise of a bed keeps me going.

Today there are no rest stops and I have to sit and eat snacks with rain dripping from my hood. My right boot is leaking somewhere from the toe and the left boot is just wet from too much submersion. I just keep going, thinking of nothing in particular, until I arrive at the Glen Nevis Youth Hostel t around 5 pm.  The drying room is a forest of wet coats that slap your face as you hunt for a spare hanger. I am so…oooo glad to be here. So is Sabine, who turns up in the same room as me.

And finally … it stops raining.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2014 by in Walking and tagged , , .
