walking and writing

Trails and trials of the writer who walks

My Coldest Camp Ever!

April near Malham Tarn, Yorkshire

Malham Cove

The purpose of this little two night trip was to see if the two sleeping bag liners I had bought (one microfibre and one silk) were going to keep me warm inside my single season bag. The test was a bit more rigorous than I intended. I only lasted until 2 am before bringing in reinforcements (two duvets in the boot of the car). The liners did make a big difference though. Last July I backpacked the middle third of the Pennine Way and was kept awake by the cold every night. To have slept from 9 pm until 2 am in zero temperature seemed like good progress. I’m walking the northerly third of the Pennine Way next month. Please let spring be properly here by then!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2013 by in Short Trips and tagged , , , .

Navigation

